Eine Nutshell Kundengeschichte

Der Cyberwire

BY ben-goldstein

The CyberWire ist ein digitales Medienunternehmen, das sich auf Nachrichten und Analysen zur Cybersicherheit konzentriert und sich an ein Insider-Publikum von Führungskräften und Entscheidungsträgern in diesem Bereich richtet.

"Wir reduzieren die große Menge an Nachrichten in diesem Bereich auf eine überschaubare Menge an Inhalten, die sehr beschäftigte Menschen konsumieren können", erklärt Bennett Moe, Director of Business Development und Contributing Editor von The CyberWire. "Wir bieten ihnen eine zentrale Anlaufstelle, an der sie schnell die genauen Nachrichten erhalten, die sie für diesen Tag benötigen."

Die Herausforderung

Bennett Moe kam als sechster Mitarbeiter zu The CyberWire, eine Erfahrung, die er als "wie die Band wieder zusammenbringt" beschreibt. Jahre zuvor hatte er sich mit Peter Kilpe (heute CEO und Chefredakteur von The CyberWire) und dem zukünftigen CyberWire-Podcast-Moderator Dave Bittner zusammengetan, um ein Ed-Tech-Produkt für Bildungsverlage zu entwickeln und es zu einem siebenstelligen Erfolg zu machen.

Während Moe nun an der Produktentwicklung, der Redaktion und der strategischen Entwicklung von The CyberWire beteiligt ist, besteht seine Hauptaufgabe in der Sicherung und Verwaltung der Sponsorenbeziehungen, die die Einnahmebasis des Unternehmens bilden.

"Wir sind sehr wählerisch bei der Auswahl unserer Sponsoren", sagt Moe. "Wir machen keine programmatische Werbung oder Google-Anzeigen, die über die Medien verbreitet werden, also verbringe ich die meiste Zeit damit, unsere Sponsorennetzwerke zu entwickeln und unser Inventar zu füllen. Unsere [Inhalte] sind so beliebt, dass viele unserer Sponsoring-Positionen bereits mehr als ein Jahr im Voraus ausverkauft sind.

Die Lösung

Apropos Glück: Als Moe seine Arbeit bei The CyberWire aufnahm, verwendete das Team bereits Nutshell. "Unser CEO recherchierte im Wesentlichen selbst, fand Nutshell online und war so beeindruckt davon, dass er es implementierte", um Kontakte, Leads und Verkäufe zu verwalten. In der Tat waren die Funktionen zur Berichterstellung und Vertriebsverfolgung entscheidend für die Fähigkeit des Unternehmens, die Investoren zu beeindrucken und die erste Finanzierungsrunde erfolgreich abzuschließen.

Mit Moe an der Spitze des Sponsorings begann das Unternehmen, die Möglichkeiten von Nutshellstärker zu nutzen, und zwar nicht nur auf der Verkaufsseite.

In erster Linie verwende ich Nutshell , um unsere Sponsoring-Möglichkeiten, unsere Leads und unsere Kontakte innerhalb dieser Objekte zu verfolgen", erklärt Moe. "Unsere sekundäre Nutzung, die ebenso wichtig ist, ist die Verfolgung von Kontakten in unserer Redaktion.

Wir führen viele Interviews mit Vordenkern in der Cyber-Community, und wir haben Partner und Partnerunternehmen, die wir für unsere Sendungen heranziehen, und Nutshell hilft uns dabei, unsere Beziehungen zu all diesen Menschen zu verfolgen."

"Vor kurzem haben wir begonnen, die E-Mail-Funktionen von Nutshellzu nutzen, um unsere Bemühungen zur Wiedergewinnung von Leads und zur Nachverfolgung besser zu koordinieren", so Moe weiter. "Wir verwenden zwar führende E-Mail-Marketingprodukte, um unseren Newsletter zu versenden, aber das ist nicht unbedingt die beste Methode für die Art von Gesprächen, die wir mit unseren Kunden führen wollten."

"Nutshell ermöglicht es mir, Massen- und persönliche E-Mails zu versenden, die vom Empfänger als einzelne E-Mails empfangen werden - damit sie nicht in seinem Spam-Ordnerlanden - undgibt mir außerdem einen guten Überblick darüber, wer sie geöffnet hat und wer nicht. Auf der Grundlage dieser Informationen kann ich meine Nachfassaktionen anpassen."

Abgesehen von den Produktfunktionen ist Moe ein zufriedener Kunde von Nutshell , weil unser Support-Team so schnell reagiert.

"Es gibt so viele Unternehmen, die mit ihren Kunden nur schriftlich kommunizieren wollen, sei es über einen Online-Chat oder per E-Mail", sagt Moe. "Aber bei der Art von Problemen, die ich mit Nutshell zu lösen versuche, ist es viel einfacher, eine Live-Person am anderen Ende der Leitung zu haben, die mir dabei hilft, das zu klären, was mir durch den Kopf geht und was ich zu tun versuche.

"Ich habe schon mehrmals mit Kristen zusammengearbeitet und sie war großartig. Ich schicke ihr eine E-Mail, in der ich sage: "Das ist es, was ich versuche, zu tun", und sie antwortet mit: "Okay, lass uns darüber reden", und wir telefonieren und fangen an, es auszuarbeiten. Und wenn ich nicht genau das tun kann, was ich mir vorgestellt habe, hilft sie mir, die Wurzel dessen zu finden, wonach ich suche, und kreativ zu sein, wenn es um Alternativen geht. Es geht um die Frage : "Wie können wir einen anderen Weg einschlagen, um zum gleichen Ergebnis zu gelangen?" Das war unglaublich hilfreich."

Die Ergebnisse

Die Strategie von CyberWire, sich auf eine bestimmte Mediennische zu konzentrieren und diese tadellos zu bedienen, war ein voller Erfolg. Das Unternehmen verzeichnet im Vergleich zum Vorjahr eine Wachstumsrate von 40 % bei der Leserschaft und hat die Größe seines Teams verdoppelt, was es ihm ermöglicht hat, die wöchentliche Produktion von Podcasts, Newslettern und Alexa-Briefings zu erhöhen. "Wenn Sie eine Alexa haben, können Sie sie ein richten und fragen: 'Hey Alexa, was ist mein Flash-Briefing', und sie wird Ihnen Ihr CyberWire-Briefing vorlesen", sagt Moe.

Im Dezember 2021 schloss The CyberWire seine erste Finanzierungsrunde ab, die es dem Unternehmen ermöglichte, sein Wachstum zu beschleunigen, aber auch zusätzliche Geschäftsanforderungen zu schaffen, einschließlich eines Vorstands, dem das Team Bericht erstatten muss. Glücklicherweise hilft ihnen ihr CRM auch dabei, dies zu verwalten. "Nutshell hat es uns ermöglicht, eine viel tiefere Analyse unserer Pipeline, unserer Verkäufe, unserer Zeit bis zum Abschluss, unserer Vertriebsaktivitäten und unserer Bemühungen zur Lead-Generierung durchzuführen und Berichte zu erstellen, die die Metriken unterstützen, die wir auf Vorstandsebene verfolgen müssen."

Je mehr Informationen wir in Nutshell eingeben, desto wertvoller werden sie."

Während das Wachstum ihres Flaggschiff-Programms immer noch Priorität hat, haben Moe und sein Team Pläne, auch zu expandieren. Im April 2022 startete CyberWire seinen neuesten Podcast, Caveat, der das bewährte Format von CyberWire nutzt, um die Probleme rund um die digitale Privatsphäre zu diskutieren, die unsere moderne Kultur durchdringen. Was kommt als nächstes? Bleiben Sie dran, um es herauszufinden.

Folgen Sie TheCyberWire auf Twitter und hören Sie sich ihre neuesten Podcasts auf Apple Podcasts.

Sehen Sie Nutshell in Aktion!

Testen Sie Nutshell 14 Tage lang kostenlos oder lassen Sie sich von uns herumführen, bevor Sie loslegen.

KOSTENLOSE TESTVERSION LIVE-DEMO

Schließen Sie sich 30.000+ anderen Vertriebs- und Marketingexperten an. Abonnieren Sie unseren Sell to Win-Newsletter!

A Nutshell Customer Story

THE CYBERWIRE

By Ben Goldstein

In any profession, it helps to stay current with what’s happening in your industry. In cybersecurity, it’s an absolute necessity.

The CyberWire is a digital media company focused on cybersecurity news and analysis, intended for an insider audience of leaders and decision-makers within the field.

“We distill the large volume of news in the space down to a manageable set of content that very busy people can consume,” explains Bennett Moe, The CyberWire’s Director of Business Development and Contributing Editor. “We provide them with a one-stop destination where they can rapidly get the precise news they need to know for that day.”

Every weekday, the CyberWire publishes a Daily Briefing followed by a Daily Podcast in the afternoon, both of which curate and unpack every development worth knowing in the cybersecurity space. The CyberWire also publishes several additional podcasts every week, including Hacking Humans, an always-fascinating dive into the latest social engineering threats and scams from around the world.

The CyberWire produces a mix of free and subscription content; their free content is supported by advertising, but unlike other news websites, third-party banner ads and pop-ups aren’t constantly cluttering the user experience.

Instead, The CyberWire team relies on a more targeted, relationship-based advertising model to ensure that readers and advertisers are both well-served. It’s a modern, sustainable approach to running a media company, and The CyberWire uses Nutshell to pull it off.

More signal, less noise

Bennett Moe joined The CyberWire last December as their sixth employee, an experience he describes as “like getting the band back together.” Years earlier, he had teamed up with Peter Kilpe (now The CyberWire’s CEO and Executive Editor) and future CyberWire podcast host Dave Bittner, to create an ed-tech product for educational publishers, turning it into a seven-figure success.

“Peter and I often talked about working together again, and when he co-founded The CyberWire, I knew about it,” Moe recalls. “It sounded interesting, but cybersecurity is not my background—I come from the world of mapping intelligence and education technology. One day, Peter invited me to an event hosted by a bunch of folks who had worked in cybersecurity. Being exposed to the field in a social setting got me interested to jump into it in a professional setting.”

While Moe now has a hand in The CyberWire’s product development, editorial, and strategic development, his primary role is securing and managing the sponsorship relationships that form the company’s revenue base.

“We are very selective in the sponsorships that we promote,” Moe says. “We don’t do programmatic advertising or Google ads pushed out through media, so most of my time is spent developing our sponsorship networks and filling our inventory. Our [content] is popular enough that many of our sponsorship positions sell out more than a year in advance, so we’re very fortunate in that sense.”

Speaking of good fortune, when Moe began working at The CyberWire, the team was already using Nutshell. “Our CEO essentially did his own research, found Nutshell online, and was impressed enough with it that he implemented it” to manage contacts, leads and sales. In fact, the reporting and sales tracking functionality was critical to the company’s ability to impress investors and successfully achieve its first venture round of funding.

With Moe running point on sponsorships, the company began to more deeply leverage Nutshell’s capabilities, and not just on the sales side.

The primary way I use Nutshell is to track our sponsorship opportunities, our leads, and our contacts within those properties,” Moe explains. “Our secondary use, which is equally as important, is tracking contacts in our editorial operation as well.”

We do many interviews with thought-leaders throughout the cyber community, and we have partners and partner companies who we rely on for content for our shows, and Nutshell helps us track our relationships with all those people as well.”

“More recently, we started taking advantage of Nutshell’s email capability to make much more coordinated efforts for lead recapture and follow-up,” Moe continued. “Though we use leading email marketing products to send our newsletter out, it’s not necessarily the best methodology for the types of conversations that we wanted to have with our customers.”

“Nutshell allows me to send bulk and personal emails that are received by the recipient as individual emails—so it’s not going to end up in their spam folder—and then it also gives me some nice visibility on who’s opened it and who hasn’t. I can tailor my follow-ups based on just having that intelligence.”

Write less email, get more replies.

Are you falling off your prospects’ radars? With Nutshell’s personal email sequences, we’ll remember the follow-up for you.

Beyond the product features, what keeps Moe a happy Nutshell customer is the responsiveness of our support team.

“There are so many companies out there who only want to deal with their customers through written word, whether it’s an online chat or through email,” Moe says. “But with the types of problems that I’m trying to solve by using Nutshell, having a live person at the other end of the line to help hash out what’s in my head and what I’m trying to do makes it so much easier to resolve.

“I’ve worked with Kristen several times and she’s been awesome. I’ll send her an email saying, ‘This is what I’m trying to do,’ she’ll respond with, ‘Okay, let’s talk about it,’ and we’ll get on the phone and start working it out. And if I can’t do exactly what I had in mind, she’ll help me find the root of what I’m after and be creative about alternatives. It’s like, ‘How can we take a different path to get to the same result?’ That’s been incredibly helpful.”

First cybersecurity, then…?

The CyberWire’s strategy of targeting a specific media niche and serving it impeccably has been an unqualified success. The company is running a 40% year-over-year growth rate in terms of readership audience, and they’ve doubled their team size, which has allowed them to increase their weekly production of podcasts, newsletters, and Alexa briefings. “If you have an Alexa, you can set it up and ask, ‘Hey Alexa, what’s my flash briefing,’ and it’ll read your CyberWire briefing to you,” Moe says.

Last December, The CyberWire closed its first round of venture round of funding, which has allowed them to accelerate their growth, but also created additional business requirements, including a board of directors that the team has to report to. Fortunately, their CRM is helping them manage that as well. “Nutshell has enabled us to do much deeper analysis of our pipeline, our sales, our time to close, our sales activity, and our lead generation efforts, and create reports that support the metrics we need to track at the board level.”

The more information we put into Nutshell, the more valuable it becomes.”

While growth of their flagship programming is still a priority, Moe and his team have plans to expand as well. In fact, just this month the CyberWire launched its latest podcast, Caveat, that utilizes the CyberWire’s proven format to discuss the issues around digital privacy that are permeating our modern culture. What’s next? Stay tuned to find out.

Follow TheCyberWire on Twitter and listen to their latest podcasts on Apple Podcasts.

#madprops: Real quotes from real Nutshell customers

See Nutshell in action!

Try Nutshell free for 14 days or let us show you around before you dive in.

See Nutshell in action!

Try Nutshell free for 14 days or let us show you around before you dive in.